Conference (Flyer)
7-8 Dec 2017

Conference proceedings are available.

Workshop (Flyer)
5-6 Dec 2017


About the organisers

CCA 2017 is organized and hosted by the South African Council for Automation and Control (SACAC), which is the National Member Organization of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC). Feel free to contact the organizers for any question, recommendations and feedback.

The event is co-sponsored by IFAC, who has the mission to promote the science and technology of automatic control for the benefit of humankind.
TC 9.4 Control Education is the main IFAC technical committee co-sponsoring this event. The event is further co-sponsored by the following IFAC technical committees:

Should you as a company, institute, or agency want to contribute as sponsor to CCA2017, please contact us for further information (

The list of members of the International Program Committee (IPC) and the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) of CCA 2017 are shown below.

International Program Committee

Ian Craig (Chair)
(South Africa – University of Pretoria)
Bozenna Pasik-Duncan (Co-Chair)
(US – University of Kansas)
Kevin Brooks (Vice-Chair from Industry)
(South Africa – BluESP)
Lidia Auret
(South Africa – Stellenbosch University)
Ayorinde Bamimore
(Nigeria – Obafemi Awolowo University)
Anthony Bloch
(US/South Africa – University of Michigan)
Brahim Bouzouia
(Algeria – CDTA)
Adil Brouri
(Morocco – ENSAM)
Fernando Camisani-Calzolari
(South Africa – CSIR)
Guanrong Chen
(China – City University of Hong-Kong)
Moncef Chioua
(Germany/Algeria – ABB)
Olurotimi Dahunsi
(Nigeria – Federal University of Technology, Akure)
Sebastián Dormido
(Spain – UNED)
Sebastian Engell
(Germany – University of Dortmund)
Sayed Hassen
(Mauritius – University of Mauritius)
Samuel John
(Namibia – Namibia University of Science and Technology)
Pousga Kabore
(Burkina Faso)
David Limebeer
(UK/South Africa – University of Oxford)
David Mayne
(UK/South Africa – Imperial College London)
Babatunde Ogunnaike
(US/Nigeria – University of Delaware)
Stefan Pickl
(Germany – Universität der Bundeswehr München)
Anthony Rossiter
(UK – University of Sheffield)
Sirish Shah
(Canada/Kenya – University of Alberta)
Sigurd Skogestad
(Norway/South Africa – Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
Christopher Swartz
(Canada/South Africa – McMaster University)
Moses Tade
(Australia/Nigeria – Curtin University)
Oluwafemi Taiwo
(Nigeria – Obafemi Awolowo University)
Raynitchka Tzoneva
(South Africa – Cape Town University of Technology)
George van Schoor
(South Africa – North West University)
Anton van Wyk
(South Africa –University of Witwatersrand)
Antonio Visioli
(Italy – University of Brescia)

 Local Organising Committee

Otis Nyandoro (Chair)
(South Africa/Zimbabwe – University of the Witwatersrand)
Samuel John (Co-Chair)
(Namibia – Namibia University of Science and Technology)
Kevin Brooks (Vice-Chair from Industry)
(South Africa – BluESP)
Margret Bauer
(South Africa/Germany – University of the Witwatersrand)
Derik le Roux
(South Africa – University of Pretoria)
Robyn Verrinder
(South Africa – University of Cape Town)